• International Workshop On Mitigation Of Disasters Due To Severe Climate Events: From Policy To Practice

    International workshop on “Mitigation of Disasters due to Severe Natural Events: From Policy to Practice” was held at the Hotel Sapphire, Colombo, Sri Lanka from 10th-13th March 2016. This workshop was organised by NASTEC in collaboration with the Centre for Science and Technology of the Non-Aligned and Other Developing Countries (NAM S&T Centre), India.

    Read More
  • National Science & Technology Commission

    The National Science and Technology Commission (NASTEC) is the Apex Policy Formulating and Advisory
    body to the Government of Sri Lanka on Science and Technology matters. It was created by an Act of
    Parliament, and came into operation in August 1998.NASTEC fulfills a need that has been highlighted for a long time by the scientific community, the establishment of a policy making apex body of scientists.
    The Act states: ".... in formulating policies relating to science and technology, and in implementing such policies, the Minister shall have regard to the objects (set out in the Act), and shall consult the NationalScience and Technology Commission..."
  • National Research and Development Investment Framework

    The National Science and Technology Commission, in collaboration with the Ministry of Technology and
    Research has identified 10 focus areas on which research and development interventions are immediately needed.
    Read More
  • Sri Lanka Biennial Conference on Science and Technology

    National Science and Technology Commission is mandated to convene biannually the Sri Lanka Conference on Science and Technology, which brings together a large mass of scientists, technologists, industrialists, administrators and other stakeholders to a common platform to discuss matters pertaining to S&T and make recommendations to the Government on application of S&T towards national development. Read More
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4

5th Symposium Programme

YSF Video


    Completed Study Groups Proposed Amendments to the Science and Technology Development Act No. 11 of 1994. (Study Group I) (1999) Read More

    This Forum comprises of Directors/Heads of Science and Technology Institutions (including Research and Development Institutions) of the country. NASTEC often Read More

    This Forum comprises of scientists actively engaged in S & T Research and Development work, either directly or by directing Read More
  • 1
  • 2

Our Ministry

Ministry of Science, Technology and Research.

Other Institutions

Arthur C. Clarke Institute for Modern Technology (ACCIMT)

Atomic Energy Authority (AEA)

Industrial Technology Institute (ITI)


Follows Us

Contact Us.

Phone: +94 (11) 2680711
           +94 (11) 2680712
National Science & Technology Commission
No 31/9 ,31/10 Dudly Senanayake Mw,
Colombo 08, Sri Lanka

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.