Biennial Conference on Science and Technology (BICOST) Series

The 6th Sri Lanka Biannual Conference on Science and Technology (BICOST - VI) was held at Hotel Suisse, Kandy from 16th to 18th July 2010. A formal inauguration was held on the evening of 16th July. Honorable Minister of Technology and Research, Prof. Tissa Vitarana was the chief guest of the occasion. The Deputy Minister Honorable Lalith Dissanayake also attended the Inauguration. About 140 participants attended this formal inauguration ceremony. Around 120 participants, both scientists and non-scientists, participated at the Conference started on 17th July. The 6th BICOST concentrated on Planning for Economics Growth through Science and Technology.

Hon. Minister of Technology & Research presented his document on science, technology and innovation strategy for Sri Lanka at this conference and it was discused and the participants presented their views on it. Dr.R.D.Guneratne, Dr.M.C.N.Jayasuriya, Prof.V.Karunaratne, Dr.A.M.Mubark, Dr.L.N.Senaweera, Prof.Sarath Abeykoon, Dr.S.A.K.Abayawardana, Dr. S.D.G. Jayawardene, Prof. Rohan Rajapakse, Dr. Janaka Munasinghe, Eng. D.S.D. Jayasiriwardene, Eng. Parakrama Jayasinghe, gave presentations on different policy objectives.

Group discussion based on those presentation were held on 17th July and the outcome of these discussions were presented on the final day of the conference.